New Music: DJ Premier & The BADDER – BPATTER


Preemo has been a busy man not just this year but pretty much every year. The recent success of PRhyme the collaboration with Royce Da 5’9 has kept the 49 year old quite busy. Now the Gang Starr legend has started a new project and this time he has decided to ditch the emcee and instead team up with a live band.

The band is called The BADDER and it consists of a drummer, a bassist and two horn players and of course Preemo on the decks. Their first single is titled BPATTER and its a high energy jazz style piece that really gets the heart rate pumping. Of course Preemo brings his incredible scratching skills to the table but he also provides the little vocals that appear in the track (by vocals I mean some quite humorous screaming from the legendary producer).

Whilst this may not be the type of music we would expect from Preemo, it is still some impressive work nonetheless. It’s something different and definitely something that gets the head boppin’. Combining this live band with his impeccable scratching skills is incredibly dope and something I surely want to hear more of. There is an LP in the works, so keep you ears peeled for more, in the mean time check out BPATTER below. Keep it up Preemo!!!


Southpaw Gets A Killer Soundtrack!

Earlier in the year it was announced that Eminem would be executive producer of the soundtrack for Antoine Fuqua’s upcoming boxing film Southpaw. Originally rumours suggested that the legendary emcee was actually going to play the main role in the film however; those rumours were short lived as the job went to academy award winner Jake Gyllenhaal (Whilst Gyllenhaal is the perfect choice I have to admit I think it would have been cool to see Em try tackle this role).

Instead Slim Shady has taken the role of soundtrack executive producer, in doing so the Detroit native has gathered some well known associates and created what looks to be one hell of a tracklist. Last week we heard Phenomenal which is one of two new solo Eminem tracks that will feature on the soundtrack, unfortunately though it’s nothing to get too excited about. The other new Eminem joint that will appear on the soundtrack is titled Kings Never Die and will feature ex No Doubt front lady Gwen Stefani. Now I know what you’re thinking ‘here goes another crappy pop star feature’ and to be honest I also thought the same at first however; after hearing a 30 second snippet of the track I’m actually impressed and keen to hear more. Whilst Phenomenal & Kings Never Die seem to be the only two solo tracks from Eminem, you can expect to hear more from the Rap God as it appears there will also be two new joints from Bad Meets Evil, honestly I’m more excited about these tracks then Em’s solo work as there is no denying that Royce brings out the best in Shady.

Em and Royce are not the only artists you should be hyped about though because there are plenty of names on here that should have any hip hop fan pumped. Veterans of the game Busta Rhymes and Tech N9ne will join forces with Slaughterhouse member Crooked I for Beast (I’m sure the name will speak for itself) whilst 50 Cent (who also happens to star in the film) premiers a new track titled Drama Never Ends. If that’s not enough to make you weak at the knees leaders of the now school Joey Bada$$ and Action Bronson team up once again for what is sure to be a killer track What About the Rest Of Us. Royce and DJ Premier’s latest collaborative project PRhyme will also have a new jam on the soundtrack titled Mode which will feature Logic (definitely one of the most interesting tracks to look forward to).

Southpaw gets released in cinemas this August in Australia and July in America whilst the soundtrack is already available for pre-order on iTunes and will be available to buy in July. Take a better look at the tracklist below and watch the trailer for what is sure to be a wicked film!


Fresh Weekly! # 3


I’ve been a bit slack the last two weeks however; the Fresh Weekly has returned and this week it’s filled with pure dopeness! I feature some quality new tracks from the likes of Hopsin, Vado and Reverb plus Eminem’s latest release from his upcoming project SHADY VX. I also look back on some absolute classics from The Fugees, Westside Connection and Big L plus a whole lot more. Since this week marked the 10th anniversary of Ol’ Dirty Bastard’s death I thought it would only be right to finish the playlist with one of his all time classic tracks! Enjoy.

Reverb – Lyrics and Tunes ft Miginomics
2. Del The Funky Homosapien – Calculate
3. Eminem – Detroit vs Everybody ft Royce Da 5’9”, Big Sean, Danny Brown, Dej Loaf & Trick Trick
4. Big L – Put It On
5. Vado – I Know
6. Hopsin – Mr. Blackman
7. Inspectah Deck – Dreamcatcher
8. Westside Connection – Hoo Bangin’ (WSCG Style)
9. Blackalicious – Alphabet Aerobics
10. The Fugees – Ready or Not
11. PRhyme – PRhyme
12. Tyler, the Creator – Assmilk ft Earl Sweatshirt
13. Clockwork Indigo – XYNO
14. Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Shimmy Shimmy Ya

New Music!

PRhyme – Courtesy

If you’re one of those people who believes that hip hop is dead you might want to take a listen to the latest track from DJ Premier and Royce Da 5’9″. The duo known as PRhyme have released their first single titled “Courtesy” which will appear on their upcoming LP. When these two get together amazing things happen just look back Royce’s 2002 single “Boom” arguably the rappers best song, fast forward 12 years and the pair have decided to release a combined album which you just know is going to be dope. “Courtesy” is exactly what you would expect from these two legends, Royce murders each verse whilst Premo provides a crisp organ-led beat. The album is due for release on December 8th with the track list revealing features from fellow legends Common and Jay Electronica, this could very well turn out to be album of the year… stay tuned!

PRhyme full track list:
2. Dat Sound Good ft. Mac Miller & Ab Soul
3. U Looz
4. You Should Know ft. Dwele
5. Courtesy
6. Wishin’ ft. Common
7. To Me, To U ft. Jay Electronica
8. Underground Kings ft. Killer Mike & Schoolboy Q
9. Microphone Preem ft. Slaughterhouse